Attaching RoboClaw to IonMotion Control

General discussion of using Roboclaw motor controllers
pglau
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Mar 11, 2017 4:51 pm

Attaching RoboClaw to IonMotion Control

Postby pglau » Sat Mar 11, 2017 5:03 pm

Sorry, this has probably been asked, but forum search doesn't work. (Claims 'update firmware' or 'attach to IonMotion Control' are "too common" )

Any case. I've got a 15A Roboclaw. It's not new, several years old (probably 3 or 4). I have no idea what firmware is on it.

I've installed the windows Drivers and can see that it says "Communication Device Class ASF" in the Device Manager. I've also installed the IonMotion Control Software.

I've powered the Roboclaw and the Stat LED is solid Green and a USB cable is attached. I'm in Mode 7.

I open the IonMotion software and the "Attached Devices" is empty. I try switching the USB to different ports, it makes no difference, device never appears as an "Attached Device"

How do I:
1) get the IonMotion software to recognize the RoboClaw
2) baring that tell what version of firmware is installed.
3) update the firmware manually if need be.

Thank you for your help.

User avatar
acidtech
Posts: 644
Joined: Thu Feb 26, 2015 9:45 pm

Re: Attaching RoboClaw to IonMotion Control

Postby acidtech » Mon Mar 13, 2017 11:44 am

This usually indicates the firmware is old enough that the latest IonMotion can "see" the board. You need to put the board into bootloader mode manually(Hold the mode button while powering on the board, the 3 LEDs will begin to cycle). Now IonMotion should see the bootloader ID. Press the Update Firmware button. ONce the firmware is updated the board will reset and should show up properly in the device list.

MGS
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Apr 12, 2017 6:20 am

Re: Attaching RoboClaw to IonMotion Control

Postby MGS » Wed Apr 12, 2017 6:46 am

I'm having a similar issue - my roboclaw shows up in the windows 8 device manager as "USB RoboClaw 2x45A" but is not recognized in Ion Motion. I tried starting in bootloader mode to no avail. Thanks for the help.

User avatar
acidtech
Posts: 644
Joined: Thu Feb 26, 2015 9:45 pm

Re: Attaching RoboClaw to IonMotion Control

Postby acidtech » Wed Apr 19, 2017 10:15 am

Do you have the latest Ion Motion/Ion Studio software installed? If not your version may not recognise the 2x45A board. Also if it is in bootloader mode it will not show as USB Roboclaw 2x45A in the Device Manager. When the board is in bootloader mode the 3 leds will cycle in sequence.

MGS
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Apr 12, 2017 6:20 am

Re: Attaching RoboClaw to IonMotion Control

Postby MGS » Wed May 03, 2017 10:37 pm

After a lot of hair pulling, it turned out that my laptop's USB port is defective. Thanks for replying though.

User avatar
acidtech
Posts: 644
Joined: Thu Feb 26, 2015 9:45 pm

Re: Attaching RoboClaw to IonMotion Control

Postby acidtech » Mon May 08, 2017 10:06 am

No problem. Let me know if there is anything we can help you with.


Return to “General Discussion”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest